What were Joel Embiid's odds to win 2023 NBA MBP Odds?

Joel Embiid Beats out Nikola Jokic for 2023 NBA MVP – Odds Listed

03 May, 2023

In Philadelphia The NBA revealed Tuesday that center Joel Embiid of the Philadelphia 76ers had earned the coveted award for the 2022–23 season after placing second the previous two times.

With a dominant campaign, Embiid upset the odds to win the league’s top individual award, defeating Giannis Antetokounmpo of the Milwaukee Bucks and Denver Nuggets center Nikola Jokic.

What appeared to be a close battle for the majority of the season turned out to be a rout, with Embiid receiving 73 of the total of 915 first-place votes. Jokic received 15 of the 674 first-place votes, while Antetokounmpo received 12 (606). Both Shai Gilgeous-Alexander of the Oklahoma City Thunder and forward Jayson Tatum of the Boston Celtics placed fourth and fifth, respectively.

After receiving the honor, Embiid stated in an interview with “Inside the NBA”: “I don’t even know where to start.” It took a lot of effort and time to get here. It feels good. I’ve been through a lot, and I’m not just talking about basketball. I am at a loss for words. It’s incredible.

The Most Recent Odds Looked Like This:

  • Nikola Jokic, Nuggets: +115
  • Joel Embiid, 76ers: +115
  • Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bucks: +450
  • Jayson Tatum, Celtics: +20000

For years, Embiid has fought for and been determined to earn the MVP award. Embiid, the third-overall choice in the 2014 draft, missed his first two full seasons of play due to injury before establishing himself as a consistent All-Star and All-NBA player. The friendly center became the symbol of the 76ers’ renovation process, often known as “The Process.” He accepted the moniker, and now he is referred to as Joel “The Process” Embiid before each home game.

Averaging career highs of 33.1 points and 54.8% shooting, along with 10.2 rebounds, 4.2 assists, and 1.7 blocks per game, the 29-year-old from Yaoundé, Cameroon, led the NBA in scoring for a second straight season while also increasing his efficiency.

With Embiid’s victory, a center has now won the honor three seasons in a row, with Jokic taking home the trophy the previous two times. Since Antetokounmpo’s victories in the 2019 and 2020 seasons, it is the fifth year in a row for an international player. Before the last five years, Hakeem Olajuwon in 1993–1994; Steve Nash in 2005–06; and Dirk Nowitzki in 2006–07 were the only international players to win the MVP award.

See More NBA News Here


125% Sign On Bonus

MLB Dime Lines

Best Contests Online

27 Years Online

Up to $750 Bonus